Sensors | Free Full-Text | Routing Protocols in Wireless Sensor

Energy conserving routing in wireless ad-hoc Networks

Adaptive Energy-Conserving Routing for Multihop Ad Hoc Networks
Ya Xu, John Heidemann and Deborah Estrin
USC/Information Sciences Institute


Ya Xu, John Heidemann and Deborah Estrin. Adaptive Energy-Conserving Routing for Multihop Ad Hoc Networks. Technical Report 527. USC/Information Sciences Institute. [PDF] [alt PDF]


In this paper, we present two algorithms for routing in energy-constrained, ad hoc, wireless networks. Nodes running our algorithms can trade off energy dissipation and data delivery quality according to application requirements. Our algorithms work above existing on-demand ad hoc routing protocols, such as AODV and DSR, without modification to the underlying routing protocols. Our major contributions are: algorithms that \emphturn off the radio to reduce energy consumption with the involvement of \emphapplication-level information, and the additional \emphuse of node deployment density to adaptively adjust routing fidelity to extend network lifetime. Algorithm analysis and simulation studies show that our energy-conserving algorithms can consume as little as 50% of the energy of an unmodified ad hoc routing protocol. Moreover, simulations of adaptive fidelity suggest that greater node density can be used to increase network lifetime; in one example a four-fold increase in density doubles network lifetime.

Bibtex Citation

@techreport{Xu00a, author = {Xu, Ya and Heidemann, John and Estrin, Deborah}, title = {Adaptive Energy-Conserving Routing for Multihop Ad Hoc Networks}, institution = {USC/Information Sciences Institute}, year = {2000}, sortdate = {2000-10-01}, project = {ilense, nocredit, scadds}, jsubject = {sensornet_subtransport}, type = {Research Report}, number = {527}, month = oct, location = {johnh: folder: xxx}, keywords = {vint, networks simulation, data diffusion, adaptive fidelity}, url = { psurl = { pdfurl = { myorganization = {USC/Information Sciences Institute}, copyrightholder = {authors} }